Justice Home The Constitution Flag

Rules Board for Courts of Law

Home> Courts> Rules Board

Rules Board: Home

The Rules Board for Courts of Law ("the Rules Board") is a statutory body which was established by the Rules Board for Courts of Law Act 107 of 1985 ("the Act"), as amended, to review the rules of court and to make, amend or repeal rules, subject to the approval of the Minister of Justice and Correctional Services.

The Chairperson of the Rules Board is Madam Justice Nambitha Dambuza, a Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal ,who was appointed by the Minister of Justice and Correctional Services in terms of Section 3(1)(a) of the Act with effect from 12 February 2018 for a period of five years. She has been re-appointed with effect from 13 February 2023 for a period of 5 years. The Minister of Justice and Correctional Services appointed the current members of the Rules Board.

Section 9 of the Act provides for the establishment of a secretariat to the Board which is to perform the work incidental to the performance by the Board of its functions. The Secretariat provides secretarial and administrative support to the Board. The Secretariat also conducts research into the rules of court. The Rules Board Secretariat is located in the Branch: Legislative and Constitutional Development. The Rules Board considers representations from users of the Rules for amendments of the Rules. A consultative processis followed before the Rules Board makes a decision to amend a Rule.

After the Rules Board approves the amendment of a particular rule, the amended rules are forwarded to the Minister for approval as required by section 6(1) of the Act. After the Minister approves the amendment, the amendment is published in the Government Gazette and thereafter tabled in Parliament.

The Rules Board has in the Government Gazette Notice published a list of rules approved by the Board and the Minister.

The Rules Board for Courts of Law
2nd Floor, Centre Walk East Tower (Old De Meent Building), 226 Pretoruis Street, Pretoria
Tel: (012) 326 8014
Fax: (012) 326 8018