About The commission

Marikana Commission LogoThe Marikana Commission of Inquiry (Commission) was appointed by the President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr Jacob Zuma, in terms of section 84(2)(f) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa of 1996, on 23 August 2012. 

Its mandate arising from the Terms of Reference promulgated on 12 September 2012 is to investigate matters of public, national and international concern arising out of the tragic incidents at the Lonmin Mine in Marikana, in the North West Province which took place on about Saturday 11 August to Thursday 16 August, 2012 which led to the deaths of approximately 44 people, more than 70 persons being injured, approximately 250 people being arrested. 

The President appointed Honourable Judge Ian Gordon Farlam, a retired judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal as Chairperson of the Commission and Adv Bantubonke Regent Tokota, SC and Advocate Pingla Devi Hemraj SC, as its additional members.

The Terms of Reference have been gazetted (GG 35680, P 50 PDF) in English, seSotho and isiXhosa which are the predominant languages in the Marikana mining community and surrounding areas...more

For any enquiries please send an e-mail to:
Adv. Ashley Mjikeliso