Justice Home The Constitution Flag

Departmental Structure

Home> About> Departmental Structure


Mr Ronald Lamola

Deputy Minister

Deputy Minister
Mr John Jeffery


Office of the Director-General
Advocate Doctor Mashabane

Office of the Director-General

Adv Doctor Mashabane
Email: DocMashabane@justice.gov.za
Curriculum Vitae

Executive Assistant: Mr Raymond Manzini
Email: RaManzini@justice.gov.za

Head of Office: Mr Chris Masibulele Mfunzana
Email: MMfunzana@justice.gov.za

- Chief Directorate: Executive and Governance Support
- Chief Directorate: Integrated Justice System (IJS)
- Chief Directorate: Internal Audit

DoJ&CD Macro Structure

Branch: Court Administration

Deputy Director-General
Mr TZ Malema (Acting)
Email: TsMalema@justice.gov.za

Office Manager
Ms Stella Maphoso
Email: SMaphoso@justice.gov.za

  • Chief Directorate: Protection of Vulnerable Groups (PRVG)
  • Chief Directorate: Court Operations Support
  • Chief Directorate: Judicial and Magistracy Policy Planning and Support

Branch: Legislative Development and Legal Services

Deputy Director-General
Ms Kalayvani Pillay
Email: KalaPillay@justice.gov.za

PA: Mr. Collen Latakgomo
Email: CLatakgomo@justice.gov.za

Branch: Master of The High Court and Family Law Services

Chief Master
Adv Martin M Mafojane
Email: MMafojane@justice.gov.za

  • Chief Directorate: Master Operations
  • Chief Directorate: Masters Policy and Strategy
  • Chief Directorate: Family Law Advocate

Branch: Office of The Chief State Law Advisor

Chief State Law Adviser
Adv Susan Masapu
Email: SMasapu@justice.gov.za

Executive Assistant: Imelda Stein-Bartman
E-mail: IStein@justice.gov.za

  • Chief Directorate: Legal Advisory
  • Chief Directorate: Legislation Process and Certification
  • Chief Directorate: International Law Advisory

Branch: Institutional Development and Support

Deputy Director-General (Acting)
Mr Sello Chiloane
E-mail: SChiloane@justice.gov.za

  • Chief Directorate: Strategic Management
  • Chief Directorate: Communication Services
  • Chief Directorate: Justice College
  • Chief Directorate: Policy, Entity and Cluster Coordination
  • Chief Directorate: Regional Operations X 9

Consitutional Development

Deputy Director-General
Ms D Franzman (Acting)
Email: DFranzman@justice.gov.za

Personal Assistant: Mr Mmaphuthi Julius Ramoroka,
Email: MmRamoroka@justice.gov.za

  • Chief Directorate: Constitutional Implementation
  • Chief Directorate: International Legal and Treaty Affairs
  • Chief Directorate: Social Justice

Branch: Financial Management Services

Chief Financial Officer
Ms Rofhiwa Irene Singo
Email: RSingo@justice.gov.za

PA: Ms Karabo Pitsoane
Email: KPitsoane@justice.gov.za

  • Chief Directorate: Management Accounting
  • Chief Directorate: Financial Accounting and Compliance
  • Chief Directorate: Third Party Funds (TPF)
  • Chief Directorate: Supply Chain Management

Corporate Services

Deputy Director-General
Ms Thabitha Constance Mametja
Email: TMametja@justice.gov.za

  • Chief Directorate: Human Resource Management and Development
  • Chief Directorate: Security Management
  • Chief Directorate: Facilities Management

Branch: Information and Communication Technology

Head ICT and Chief Information Officer
Mr Thabo Sakasa
E-mail: tsakasa@justice.gov.za

Office of the Solicitor-General

Solicitor-General: Mr Fhedzisani Pandelani, Email: FhePandelani@justice.gov.za

Office Manager: Thabitha Ramohlale, Email: TRamohlale@justice.gov.za

- State Attorney Offices


* Currect Macro Structure approved in Sep 2022.

List of previous Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Director-Generals (since 1994)

  • Mr Ronald Lamola (29 May 2019 - to date)
  • Adv Tshililo Michael Masutha (25 May 2014 - 28 May 2019)
  • Mr Jeffrey Thamsanqa Radebe (11 May 2009 - 28 April 2014)
  • Mr Mohamed Enver Surty (25 Sep 2008-10 May 2009)
  • Ms Brigitte Mabandla (29 Apr 2004-24 Sep 2008)
  • Dr Penuell Maduna (17 Jun 1999- 27 Apr 2004)
  • Dr Dullah Omar (Apr 1994- Jun 1999)
Deputy Ministers
  • Mr John H Jeffery (9 Jul 2013 - to date)
  • Mr Andries C Nel (11 May 2009 - 8 Jul 2013)
  • Adv Johhny H de Lange (29 Apr 2004 - 10 May 2009)
  • Ms Cherly E Gillwald (17 Jun 1999 - 28 Apr 2004)
  • Dr. 'Manto Tshabalala-Msimang (Jul 1996 - May 1999)
  • Ms Sheila M Camerer (Mar-Jun 1996)
  • Mr Chirs Fismer (May 1994- Mar 1996)
  • Adv Doctor Mashabane (Mar 2021-to date)
  • Ms Kalayvani Pillay (Acting from 3 Aug 2020 to Feb 2021)
  • Adv J B Skosana (Acting from 7 Oct 2019 to 6 Apr 2020)
  • Mr Vusi Madonsela (01 May 2016 - 06 Oct 2019)
  • Ms Nonkululeko Sindane (02 Jan 2010- 29 Apr 2016)
  • Adv Menzi Simelane (Jun 2005 - Sep 2009)
  • Adv Vusi Pikoli (1999- Jun 2005)
  • Adv Jasper Noeth (1989 - 1999)