Rules Board for Courts of Law

Home> Courts> Rules Board

Rules Board: Secretariat

Home l Members l Secretariat l GG Notices l Comment


The establishment of the Secretariat are all Department of Justice officials who occupy the following posts:

  • a Deputy Chief State Law Adviser/Chief Director who acts as the Secretary of the Board;
  • three principal state law advisers who perform the function of committee secretaries, compile research, consult with role-players and draft amendments to the rules;
  • six state law advisers who perform the necessary research; and
  • administrative staff.

Present incumbents of posts
The present incumbents of the posts are:

  • Deputy Chief State Law Adviser/Chief Director and Secretary to the Board: Raj Daya, RajDaya@justice.gov.za
  • Director and Magistrates’ Courts and PAJA Committees’ Secretary: Lungisani David Neke, DNeke@justice.gov.za
  • Director and High Court and ADR Committees’ Secretary: Jayanth Kumar Balkishun, JBalkishun@justice.gov.za
  • Director and Costs Committee and Joint Committee Secretary: Charmaine Natalie Kemp, ChKemp@justice.gov.za
  • Deputy Director and Researcher to Magistrates’s Court Committee: Nkosinathi Maseko, NMaseko@justice.gov.za
  • Deputy Director and Researcher to Costs Committees: Moses Setshedi, MoSetshedi@justice.gov.za
  • Deputy Director and Researcher to High Court Committee: Azwindini Sebola, AmSebola@justice.gov.za
  • Deputy Director and Researcher to High Court Committee: Musawenkosi Cele, MuCele@justice.gov.za
  • Deputy Director and Researcher to Magistrates’s Court Committee: Makubela Mokulubeta, MMokulubete@justice.gov.za