National Forum on the Legal Profession

National Forum on the Legal Profession was established by the Legal Practice Act, 2014 (Act 28 of 2014), as a body corporate with full legal capacity.

The role of the National Forum is to provide a legislative framework for the transformation and restructuring of the legal profession in line with constitutional imperatives so as to facilitate and enhance an independent legal profession that broadly reflects the diversity and demographics of the Country as set out in the Legal Practice Act.

The Forum is expected to level the playing field for the establishment of the Legal Practice Council and Provincial Councils.


Follow this link to view the members of the Forum, committee chairpersons & administration staff.

Chairperson - Advocate Kgomotso Moroka SC

Deputy Chairperson - Mr. Max Boqwana

Chairperson, Administration and Human Resource Committee:
Ms Kathleen Matolo- Dlepu

Chairperson, Governance Committee and Rules & Code of Conduct Committee: Jan Stemmett

Chairperson, Education Standards & Accreditation Committee: Jan Maree


Currently there are four committees, each with designated members and a chairperson.

For more information visit the Law Society of South Africa's website

Contact Us

National Forum on the Legal Profession
Spooral Pack Building, 2007 Lenchen Avenue South,

Head of Administration in the National Forum
Ms Sbongile Cutshwa
012 622 6342/ 082 924 5784

All correspondence to be sent to:
Executive Officer: National Forum, Ms. Charity Nzuza, 082 219 4637,