Magisterial Districts: Maps [Eastern Cape & KwaZulu-Natal]

Please note that all documentation on the site is in PDF PDF format and require Acrobat Reader to open and read.

Related Gazettes & Documents

  • Magistrates’ Courts Act: Intention to create magisterial districts and establish courts in respect of KwaZulu-Natal Province, GG 41552, GoN 407, 29 Mar 2018
  • Magistrates’ Courts Act: Intention to create magisterial districts and establish district courts in the Eastern Cape Province as part of the rationalisation of magisterial districts, GG 41552, GoN 406, 29 Mar 2018

Eastern Cape Magisterial Districts [PDF Maps]

  1. Amathole [Main Seat: Butterworth]
  2. Amathole [Sub District: Amahlathi]
  3. Amathole [Sub District: Mbashe]
  4. Amathole [Sub District: Ngqushwa]
  5. Amathole [Sub District: Raymond Mhlaba]

  6. Alfred Nzo [Main Seat: KwaBhaca (Mount Frere)]
  7. Alfred Nzo [Sub District: Matatiele]
  8. Alfred Nzo [Sub District: Mbizana]
  9. Alfred Nzo [Sub District: Ntabankulu]

  10. Buffalo City [Main Seat: East London]
  11. Buffalo City [Sub District: Buffalo City East]
  12. Buffalo City [Sub District: Buffalo City West]

  13. Chris Hani [Main Seat: Komani]
  14. Chris Hani [Sub District: Emalahleni]
  15. Chris Hani [Sub District: Ngcobo (Engcobo)]
  16. Chris Hani [Sub District: Inxuba Yethemba]

  17. Joe Gqabi [Main Seat: Barkley East]
  18. Joe Gqabi [Sub District: Elundini]
  19. Joe Gqabi [Sub District: Sterkspruit]
  20. Joe Gqabi [Sub District: Walter Sisulu]

  21. Nelson Mandela [Main Seat: Port Elizabeth]
  22. Nelson Mandela [Sub District: Uitenhage]
  23. Nelson Mandela [Sub District: Motherwell]
  24. Nelson Mandela [Sub District: New Brighton]

  25. OR Tambo [Main Seat: Mthatha]
  26. OR Tambo [Sub District: Inquza (Ngquza) Hill]
  27. OR Tambo [Sub District: Mhlontlo]

  28. Sarah Baartman [Main Seat: Grahamstown]
  29. Sarah Baartman [Sub District: Dr Beyers Naude]
  30. Sarah Baartman [Sub District: Kouga]

KwaZulu-Natal Magisterial Districts [PDF Maps]

  1. Amajuba [Main Seat: Newcastle]
  2. Amajuba [Sub District: Dannhauser]
  3. Amajuba [Sub District: Emadlangeni]

  4. eThekwini [Main Seat: Durban]
  5. eThekwini [Sub District: eThekwini North]
  6. eThekwini [Sub District: eThekwini South]
  7. eThekwini [Sub District: eThekwini West]

  8. Harry Gwala [Main Seat: Hlanganani (Polela)]
  9. Harry Gwala [Sub District: Greater Kokstad]
  10. Harry Gwala [Sub District: Ubuhlebezwe]
  11. Harry Gwala [Sub District: Umzimkhulu]

  12. Ilembe [Main Seat: Kwadukuza]
  13. Ilembe [Sub District: Maphumulo]
  14. Ilembe [Sub District: Ndwedwe]

  15. King Cetshwayo [Main Seat: Empangeni]
  16. King Cetshwayo [Sub District: Mthonjaneni]
  17. King Cetshwayo [Sub District: Nkandla]
  18. King Cetshwayo [Sub District: Umlalazi]

  19. Ugu [Main Seat: Port Shepstone]
  20. Ugu [Sub District: Umdoni]
  21. Ugu [Sub District: Umuziwabantu]
  22. Ugu [Sub District: Umzumbe]

  23. Umgungundlovu [Main Seat: Pietermaritzburg]
  24. Umgungundlovu [Sub District: Umgungundlovu East]
  25. Umgungundlovu [Sub District: Umgungundlovu West]

  26. Umkhanyakude [Main Seat: Ubombo]
  27. Umkhanyakude [Sub District: Mtubatuba]
  28. Umkhanyakude [Sub District: Umhlabuyalingana]

  29. Umzinyathi [Main Seat: Dundee]
  30. Umzinyathi [Sub District: Msinga]
  31. Umzinyathi [Sub District: Nquthu]
  32. Umzinyathi [Sub District: Umvoti]

  33. Uthukela [Main Seat: Ladysmith]
  34. Uthukela [Sub District: Inkosi Langalibalele]
  35. Uthukela [Sub District: Okhahlamba]

  36. Zululand [Main Seat: Nongoma]
  37. Zululand [Sub District: Abaqulusi]
  38. Zululand [Sub District: Ulundi]
  39. Zululand [Sub District: Uphongolo]

Enquiries on this project can be directed to:
Mr Zacharia (Moagi) Makena
Deputy Director (Court Establishment)
Tel: 012 315 1767. Fax: 086 507 4984, E-mail:

Updated: 06 Apr 2018