Media Statements

Home> Newsroom> Statements

Deputy Minister Jeffery awards bursaries to Moot Court Competition Winners

MootCourtWinners201610 October 2016

The Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development, Mr John Jeffery awarded bursaries to the winners of the 6th annual South African National Schools Moot Court competition that was held at the Constitutional Court, Johannesburg on 09 October 2016.

Emihle Majikija and Aviwe Vilane from Harding Secondary School (Ugu District, KwaZulu-Natal) and Surprise Mahlangu and Thembinkosi Msiza from MH Baloyi Secondary School (Tshwane West District, Gauteng) were awarded bursaries to study law at a university of their choice in South Africa.

The Moot Court competition was created among others, to empower and encourage young South Africans, especially those in Grades 10 and 11 from all provinces, to understand and relate to human rights concepts, values and principles. The competition further also aims to encourage learners from previously disadvantaged schools to pursue careers in law.

The competition provides a unique opportunity for learners to develop their public speaking skills, research, writing skills, learn to structure a legal argument and analyse cases. “It is these young people who will lead meaningful dialogues on the Constitution and craft legislations and policies that will guide our country in the future,” Deputy Minister Jeffery said.

The Deputy Minister further said this year’s competition aims to celebrate the South African Constitution, our constitutional rights and responsibilities and strives to develop the potential of each participating learner.

“As part of the efforts to strengthen the constitutional democracy, the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development has created a Slimline version of the Constitution and is currently distributing over 500 000 copies to Grade 12 learners in schools countrywide. The booklet contains the Preamble and founding provisions of the Constitution as well as the Bill of Rights,” he said.

The competition is a partnership between the University of Pretoria Institute for International and Comparative Law, the University of Venda, the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development, the Department of Basic Education, the Law Society of South Africa and the Foundation for Human Rights.

Issued by the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development

Mthunzi Mhaga
Spokesperson for the Ministry of Justice and Correctional Services