Upgrading the courts in rural areas to restore peoples’ dignity

As part of its Access to Justice programme which is aimed at widening access to justice, the Department continues to upgrade and equip courts in rural villages and traditionally Black areas so that local communities can proper courts can receive humane and dignified services from these centres. These courts were built as satellite courts (Branch Courts) of courts in affluent towns and suburbs. A total of 18 Branch Courts have not been upgraded and they function as full services’ courts. 

Minister Jeff Radebe, Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development has proclaimed a further six (6) Branch Courts as full services Magistrates Courts with effect from 15 May 2013.  These courts are:

  • Atteridgeville; Sebokeng and Tsakane in the Gauteng province;
  • Secunda in the Mpumalanga province; and
  • Stilfontein and Orkney in the North West province.

By virtue of the Proclamation, the above courts will render services relating to:

  • The adjudication of criminal offences and civil and family law related disputes;
  • Domestic violence (e.g. Protection orders)
  • Children Inquiries (e.g. foster parent orders)
  • Small Claims Courts services (with effect from the date to be announced by the Minister)
  • Claims for child and spousal maintenance and enforcement of maintenance orders;
  • Certain services relating to deceased estates and administration orders.

Inquiries relating to any of the above services may be made at the addressed to the Court Manager of the court concerned.

  • Atteridgeville (Tel 012 373 1140)
  • Sebokeng (Tel 016 988 1320)
  • Tsakane (Tel 011 739 1600)
  • Secunda (Tel 017 631 1187/ 634 7621)
  • Stilfontein (Tel 018 484 1836)
  • Orkney (Tel 018 473 2596)

03 May 2013