Home> Contacts> Ministry> CV Minister

Profile of Adv Minister TM Masutha

MinisterAdv Tshililo Michael Masutha was appointed Minister of Justice and Correctional Services on 25 May 2014.

He was born in 1965 in Valdezia, a small village in the northern part of Limpopo and grew up in Shayandima.

He went to Siloe School for the Blind, matriculating in 1984.

He obtained a BJuris Degree at the University of Limpopo (then the University of the North) 1988, and obtained an LLB Degree from the University of the Witwatersrand in 1991.

 While studying, he became passionate about the rights of people with disabilities, and founded and participated in movements for disabled students at both universities respectively, advocating for the provision of appropriate support, and challenging the apartheid regime’s treatment of the blind and other disabled people.

In 1986 he was a founding member of the Northern Transvaal Association for the Blind From 1989 to 1996 he was a member of the National Council for the Blind’s Executive Committee where he advocated for the removal of discriminatory laws against blind people especially in protective employment.

He was a co-founder of the Equileg Programme of the Southern African Federation.

In August 1991 he participated in a delegation of the Human Rights committee of Disabled People to the United Nations.
In 1995, he was admitted to practice as an advocate of the High Court of South Africa.

From 1991 to 1996 he was Director of the Disability Rights Unit at Lawyers for Human Rights – a project (which was a joint initiative with Disabled People South Africa) providing legal assistance to persons unfairly discriminated on disability grounds.

In 1996 he was appointed as Head of the Legal Services in the Department of Social Development, where he specialised in Children’s Rights and Social Security Law.

Minister Masutha has been a Member of Parliament since 1999, representing the African National Congress. He has served on a number of committees, including the Justice and Constitutional Development Committee, the Rules Committee and the Constitutional Review Committee.

He chaired the Social Development Committee, the Standing Committee on the Auditor General, the Subcommittee on Review of Rules the Adhoc Committee on Delegated Legislation, the Ad Hoc Committee that nominated the current Public Protector. He also served on the Judicial Service Commission from 2004 to 2009, and also served on the Magistrates Commission.

 In July 2013 he was appointed as Deputy Minister of Science and Technology and in May 2014 President Zuma appointed him as Minister of the expanded Department of Justice and Correctional Services.