Departmental Structure: Legislative Development

Home> About> Departmental Structure> Legislative Development

Deputy Director-General

Ms Kalayvani Pillay
Tel: 012 406 4750, Fax: 012 406 4632, E-mail: KalaPillay@justice.gov.za

PA: Mr. Collen Latakgomo, Tel: 012 406 4751, E-mail: CLatakgomo@justice.gov.za


Chief Directorate: Legislation Development

Functions:
* Investigate and develop primary and subordinate legislation.   
* Review and amend existing primary and subordinate legislation.  
* Advising the minister in respect of legislative proposals relating to the line function of the department.     
* Revision of fees and rate in terms of law administration.   
* Brief Parliamentary Committees on draft legislation and assist the committee in amending draft legislation.

Chief Director: Lawrence GS Bassett
Tel: 012 406 4754/3, Fax: 012 406 4632, E-mail: LBassett@justice.gov.za

  • Principal State Law Adviser
    Johan Labuschagne
    Tel: 012 406 4755, Fax: 086 501 8053, E-mail: JoLabuschagne@justice.gov.za
  • Principal State Law Adviser
    Ina Botha
    Tel: 012 406 4756, Fax: 086 648 2289, E-mail: InBotha@justice.gov.za
  • Principal State Law Adviser
    Johan de Lange    
    Tel: 021 461 0931, Fax: 086 507 2569, E-mail: JDelange@justice.gov.za
  • Principal State Law Adviser
    Theresa Ross
    Tel: 012 406 4759, Fax: 086 648 1150, E-mail: TRoss@justice.gov.za

Chief Directorate: Secretariat for the SA Law Reform Commission

Functions:
* Render a secretariat and administrative support service to the SA Law Reform Commission.     
* Conduct legal research, including legal comparative research, to make recommendations for law reform.     
* Render a secretarial service to the rules board.

Secretary to the Commission
Adv JB Skosana (Acting)
Tel: 012 622 6300
Fax: n/a
E-mail: n/a

For more contact details, visit their website: SALRC


Rules Board Secretariat

Chief Director and Secretary to the Board
Raj Daya
Tel: 012 326 8014
Fax: 012 326 8018
E-mail: rajdaya@justice.gov.za

  • Principal State Law Adviser
    Jayanth Balkishun
    Tel: 012 326 8014, Fax: 012 326 8018, E-mail: jbalkishun@justice.gov.za
  • Principal State Law Adviser
    David Neke
    Tel: 012 326 8014, Fax: 012 326 8018, E-mail: dneke@justice.gov.za